What is the Order of the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

If you’re a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, you might be wondering what the order is. The more complicated the timeline becomes, the harder it is to decide. For example, Doctor Strange is set before Captain America: Civil War but ends after that film. Similarly, Black Panther begins after Captain America: Civil War and probably plays out before the bulk of Doctor Strange. As you can see, there’s no standard order, but there are some basic guidelines that can help you decide which movies to watch in the order they’re meant to.

Thor: The Dark World

It’s not easy to tell if Thor: The Dark World will succeed or fail. The first film was a lighthearted space opera that made audiences swoon, but the sequel seemed more serious. After all, the MCU was made famous for its lightheartedness. In Thor: The Dark World, however, the tone is much darker, and the film looks dreary. The lack of humor in the film clashes with the movie’s more serious tone.

While Thor is still a likable character, the storyline is less successful. This movie fails to engage audiences in its interpersonal drama. Instead, it relies on more significant plot motivations. For instance, Thor’s love interest is undermined by his obsession with Lady Sif. This, in turn, leaves the audience at an impasse. This lack of depth and character development is one of the weaknesses of Thor’s character in this film.


There are two significant ways to enjoy the Marvel Cinematic Universe. You can view the movies in chronological order or watch them in their release order. To begin, you should watch the Marvel movies in chronological order. Then, you can watch their post-credit scenes. This is a suitable method if you want to see all Marvel films. You can watch them in chronological order by going by the name in brackets.

If you’ve been following the Marvel cinematic universe, you’ll know that Phase Four of the MCU is already underway. Marvel has already announced a lot of new characters, including Loki, Hawkeye, Moon Knight, and Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness. These characters will play significant roles in the future, and we’ll likely see them again. So what’s the order of the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

Iron Man

While it’s true that Captain America and Iron Man both came out after the events of Captain America: The First Avenger, the second movie is still considered the proper kickoff for the MCU. Both movies were set in the 1940s and introduced the organization known as S.H.I.E.L.D., which Nick Fury heads. While the films from the MCU have been quite different, both movies have similar themes and are part of the same universe.

The MCU is divided into four phases. Phase one started with the Shang-Chi film in 1995 and ended with Endgame in 2018. In addition, Phase four included the Shang-Chi movie, Far From Home and No Way Home. The next two Phase 4 films are Moon Knight and Eternals, which are set in the Spring of 2024. Both of these movies will follow Captain America: Civil War.


The Marvel Cinematic Universe has shifted the landscape of Hollywood. From the Disney+ series to interconnected movies, the MCU features some of the most beloved superhero characters ever. Marvel’s films have expanded beyond their original universe from microscopic missions to pulse-pounding political thrillers. And while some movies have crossovers and some characters have been present for decades, other films are still new and exciting.

When is the next MCU movie due? Avengers: Infinity War has been released four times, so the Marvel Cinematic Universe has a lot of films on the horizon. The next installment, Spider-Man: Homecoming, is set eight years after the New York City attack, making it about 2020. Meanwhile, Avengers: Infinity War takes place in 2017, and has plenty of evidence that the Snap took place in the spring of 2018.

Fantastic Four

The Fantastic Four movie franchise was announced in August 2009 by 20th Century Fox. Director Jon Watts was tapped to direct and write the screenplay, with screenplay co-writers Mark Frost and Michael Green. Principal photography was completed in August 2014, with the film starring Miles Teller, Kate Mara, Michael B. Jordan, and Toby Kebbell. The film grossed over $330 million worldwide.

While the Fantastic Four were often portrayed as NYC heroes, their real roles were explorers of other worlds. They crossed worlds and traveled between science and magic. Their origin stories were often undefined by genre. While the Marvel Cinematic Universe occasionally opts for more grounded first entries, such as Ant-Man and Thor, the Fantastic Four is an exception. A grounded approach isn’t necessary for this film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *